Gelatin (or gelatine) is a translucent, colorless, brittle (when dry), flavorless solid substance, derived from the collagen inside animals' skin and bones.

Be Awesome. Write a better description.

The function(s) performed by the food additive when used in cooking.

  • Carrier - A substance used to dissolve, dilute or disperse a food additive or nutrient without altering its function; typically to improve handling/application.
  • Emulsifier - An agent that forms or preserves a mixture of substances normally incapable of being mixed eg. oil and water
  • Gelling agent - Facilitates the formation of a gel to change food texture
  • Stabiliser - A substance that maintains the uniform dispersal of substances in a food
  • Thickener - A substance that increases the viscosity of a food

Data according to various sources such as fao, fda, codex. Spot a mistake? Tell us!

Country Status Matched Term
United States
Approved
European Union
Approved
Australia and New Zealand
Approved
Philippines
Matching Terms Not Found
Austria
Approved
Belgium
Approved
Bulgaria
Approved
Cyprus
Approved
Czech Republic
Approved
Denmark
Approved
Finland
Approved
France
Approved
Germany
Approved
Greece
Approved
Hungary
Approved
Ireland
Approved
Italy
Approved
Latvia
Approved
Lithuania
Approved
Luxembourg
Approved
Malta
Approved
Netherlands
Approved
Poland
Approved
Portugal
Approved
Romania
Approved
Slovakia
Approved
Slovenia
Approved
Spain
Approved
Sweden
Approved
United Kingdom
Approved
Australia
Approved
New Zealand
Approved
Estonia
Not Permitted

show more

Contains fish - maybe

428 - Gelatin: Gelatin from Zabiha slaughtered beef and fish source is considered Halal. Gelatin from pork is Haram. Gelatin from non zabiha beef is not Halal

Muslim Consumer Group

Causes allergic reaction - yes

428 - Gelatin: Obtained from animal by-products, such as bones and hides. It can be produced from all species of animals. Used as thickening and gelling agent. Many different products. Acceptable Daily Intake: None determined. Side effects: None known when used in foods. Can not be used by vegans and vegetarians. Use by religious groups, such as Muslims and Jews is restricted, due to the origin of the product. Unfortunately information on origin can only be obtained from the producer. Specific halal gelatine is made from cattle. In a huge range of foods and in some vaccines. Possible allergen, may contain 220 (sulphur dioxide), asthmatics and people allergic to sulphites beware! Classified as a food not an additive.

MBM Foods

Causes allergic reaction - yes

428 - Gelatin: Possible allergen may contain 220, asthmatics and people allergic to sulphites need to be cautious - best to avoid

Angelfire-Food Intolerance, Allergies and Adverse Reactions

Derived from animal products - yes

428 - Gelatin: Gelatine has now been classed as food (made of animal skin and hoofs) in it's own right. Remember, all types of gelatine are animal based and can be found in dairy products like yoghurts, plus many kinds of confectionery, jellies and other sweets.

Vegetarian Network Victoria

Halal - maybe

428 - Gelatin: Gelatin from Zabiha slaughtered beef and fish source is considered Halal. Gelatin from pork is Haram. Gelatin from non zabiha beef is not Halal

Muslim Consumer Group

Derived from animal products (not suitable for vegan) - yes

428 - Gelatin: Obtained from animal by-products, such as bones and hides. It can be produced from all species of animals. Used as thickening and gelling agent. Many different products. Acceptable Daily Intake: None determined. Side effects: None known when used in foods. Can not be used by vegans and vegetarians. Use by religious groups, such as Muslims and Jews is restricted, due to the origin of the product. Unfortunately information on origin can only be obtained from the producer. Specific halal gelatine is made from cattle. In a huge range of foods and in some vaccines. Possible allergen, may contain 220 (sulphur dioxide), asthmatics and people allergic to sulphites beware! Classified as a food not an additive.

MBM Foods

Gelatine
Edible gelatin

Collection of sources used to create this food additive summary.

Source
Codex Alimentarius
Food Standards Australia New Zealand
UK Food Guide
UK Food Standards Agency
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Wikipedia

Lists the U.S. CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry number and EINECS (European INventory of Existing Commercial chemical Substances) numbers when known.

  • CAS Number: 9000-70-8
  • EINECS Number: 232-554-6
comments powered by Disqus