Lecithin, E322 (i), is a subclass of Lecithins (E322 ).

It is used commercially in foods requiring a natural emulsifier or lubricant.

Be Awesome. Write a better description.

The function(s) performed by the food additive when used in cooking.

  • Antioxidant - Protects a food from deterioration caused by oxidation

Data according to various sources such as fao, fda, codex. Spot a mistake? Tell us!

Country Status Matched Term
United States
Approved Lecithin
European Union
Approved Lecithin
Australia and New Zealand
Approved Lecithin
Philippines
Not Permitted
Germany
Approved Lecithin
Greece
Approved Lecithin
Austria
Approved Lecithin
Belgium
Approved Lecithin
Bulgaria
Approved Lecithin
Cyprus
Approved Lecithin
Czech Republic
Approved Lecithin
Denmark
Approved Lecithin
Estonia
Approved Lecithin
Finland
Approved Lecithin
France
Approved Lecithin
Hungary
Approved Lecithin
Ireland
Approved Lecithin
Italy
Approved Lecithin
Latvia
Approved Lecithin
Lithuania
Approved Lecithin
Luxembourg
Approved Lecithin
Malta
Approved Lecithin
Netherlands
Approved Lecithin
Poland
Approved Lecithin
Portugal
Approved Lecithin
Romania
Approved Lecithin
Slovakia
Approved Lecithin
Slovenia
Approved Lecithin
Spain
Approved Lecithin
Sweden
Approved Lecithin
United Kingdom
Approved Lecithin
Australia
Approved Lecithin
New Zealand
Approved Lecithin

show more

Derived from animal products (not suitable for vegan) - yes

E322 - Lecithins: Some Lecithin contains egg yolks so not suitable for Vegans. Other main sources of Lecithin are from soya bean oil and is likely to be genetically modified (if sourced from countries such as the US) Lecithin can also be directly obtained from animal fat.

Vegetarian Network Victoria

Contains soybeans - maybe

E322 - Lecithins: Emulsifiers and Stabilizers It now days made from soy fat or Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only soy fat is used as a source.

Muslim Consumer Group

Contains peanuts - yes

E322 - Lecithins: From Yeast Intolerance food additive article "Food Additives and Preservatives Made From Peanuts".

Yeast Intolerance- Allergy & Adverse Reactions in Peanuts

Genetically engineered - yes

E322 - Lecithins: Lecithin is primarily obtained from plants that contain oils and, as a rule, from soybeans. Less valuable yields may be obtained from rapeseed, maize, sunflowers and peanuts. During processing in the oil mill, the soybeans are separated into the protein-rich fodder and the fat component. The raw lecithin that is extracted from the soybean mass is purified in several Stepps. Lecithin, in the form in which it is used in the manufacture of food products, is free of soya DNA. As a rule, therefore, it cannot be determined whether GM soybeans were used in the manufacture of a lecithin preparation. Soybeans:as a rule, soya raw materials that are traded internationally stem either wholly or partially from genetically modified plants. GM soybeans are grown on a large scale in Argentina and the USA, for example. The EU imports a large part of its soya raw materials from these countries. Some food producers process exclusively conventional soya raw materials. An absolute separation at all levels of processing between conventional and GM soybeans however is not technically possible. Therefore, even raw materials declared to be "free of gene technology" may contain small quantities of GMO.

GMO Compass

Derived from plant products - yes

E322 - Lecithins: Emulsifier derived from soy beans, egg yolks, peanuts, corn or animal resources; non toxic but overdose can upset the stomach, kill the appetite and cause profuse sweating; used to allow combination of oils in margarine, chocolate, mayonnaise, milk powder; must be choosen vegetable type.

DFlock

Contains egg or substances derived from eggs - yes

E322 - Lecithins: Lecithins are also known as phosphatidylcholines, and are examples of phopholipids, or esters of glycerol, where two ester bonds are to fatty acids and the third is to a phosphoric acid derivative. Most commercial lecithin is extracted from soya beans, egg yolks and leguminous seeds, corn or animal resources; non toxic; used to allow combination of oils in margarine, chocolate, mayonnaise, milk powder, potato chips, puddings, breakfast cereals.. Lecithins play important roles in the transmission of nerve impulses as well as fulfilling other biological functions. They are present in all living cells and are significant constituents of nerve and brain tissues. Lecithins are capable of forming micelles in aqueous solution hence are employed in foods as emulsifiers. Egg allergy.

MBM Foods

Lecithins
Acti-flow 68-SB
Actiflo
Alcolec 621-F
Dulectin
Egg yolk
Emulthin M-35
Gliddex
Granulestin
Kelecin
Lecithol
vovitellin
Phosphatidyl choline
Soybean lecithin
Vitellin

Collection of sources used to create this food additive summary.

Source
Codex Alimentarius
Food Standards Australia New Zealand
UK Food Guide
UK Food Standards Agency
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Wikipedia

Lists the U.S. CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry number and EINECS (European INventory of Existing Commercial chemical Substances) numbers when known.

  • CAS Number: 8002-43-5
  • EINECS Number: 232-307-2

No known suppliers. Get listed here - sales@noshly.com

comments powered by Disqus