Lecithin, partially hydrolysed, E322 (ii), is a subclass of Lecithins (E322 ).

Consistency may vary from plastic to fluid, depending upon free fatty acid and oil content, and upon the presence or absence of other diluents.

Be Awesome. Write a better description.

The function(s) performed by the food additive when used in cooking.

  • Antioxidant - Protects a food from deterioration caused by oxidation
  • Emulsifier - An agent that forms or preserves a mixture of substances normally incapable of being mixed eg. oil and water

Data according to various sources such as fao, fda, codex. Spot a mistake? Tell us!

Country Status Matched Term
United States
Approved Lecithin, hydroxylated lecithin
European Union
Approved LecithinS
Australia and New Zealand
Approved Lecithin
Philippines
Not Permitted
Greece
Approved LecithinS
Austria
Approved LecithinS
Belgium
Approved LecithinS
Bulgaria
Approved LecithinS
Cyprus
Approved LecithinS
Czech Republic
Approved LecithinS
Denmark
Approved LecithinS
Estonia
Approved LecithinS
Finland
Approved LecithinS
France
Approved LecithinS
Germany
Approved LecithinS
Hungary
Approved LecithinS
Ireland
Approved LecithinS
Italy
Approved LecithinS
Latvia
Approved LecithinS
Lithuania
Approved LecithinS
Luxembourg
Approved LecithinS
Malta
Approved LecithinS
Netherlands
Approved LecithinS
Poland
Approved LecithinS
Portugal
Approved LecithinS
Romania
Approved LecithinS
Slovakia
Approved LecithinS
Slovenia
Approved LecithinS
Spain
Approved LecithinS
Sweden
Approved LecithinS
United Kingdom
Approved LecithinS
Australia
Approved Lecithin
New Zealand
Approved Lecithin

show more

Derived from animal products (not suitable for vegan) - yes

E322 - Lecithins: Some Lecithin contains egg yolks so not suitable for Vegans. Other main sources of Lecithin are from soya bean oil and is likely to be genetically modified (if sourced from countries such as the US) Lecithin can also be directly obtained from animal fat.

Vegetarian Network Victoria

Contains soybeans - maybe

E322 - Lecithins: Emulsifiers and Stabilizers It now days made from soy fat or Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only soy fat is used as a source.

Muslim Consumer Group

Contains peanuts - yes

E322 - Lecithins: From Yeast Intolerance food additive article "Food Additives and Preservatives Made From Peanuts".

Yeast Intolerance- Allergy & Adverse Reactions in Peanuts

Genetically engineered - yes

E322 - Lecithins: Lecithin is primarily obtained from plants that contain oils and, as a rule, from soybeans. Less valuable yields may be obtained from rapeseed, maize, sunflowers and peanuts. During processing in the oil mill, the soybeans are separated into the protein-rich fodder and the fat component. The raw lecithin that is extracted from the soybean mass is purified in several Stepps. Lecithin, in the form in which it is used in the manufacture of food products, is free of soya DNA. As a rule, therefore, it cannot be determined whether GM soybeans were used in the manufacture of a lecithin preparation. Soybeans:as a rule, soya raw materials that are traded internationally stem either wholly or partially from genetically modified plants. GM soybeans are grown on a large scale in Argentina and the USA, for example. The EU imports a large part of its soya raw materials from these countries. Some food producers process exclusively conventional soya raw materials. An absolute separation at all levels of processing between conventional and GM soybeans however is not technically possible. Therefore, even raw materials declared to be "free of gene technology" may contain small quantities of GMO.

GMO Compass

Derived from plant products - yes

E322 - Lecithins: Emulsifier derived from soy beans, egg yolks, peanuts, corn or animal resources; non toxic but overdose can upset the stomach, kill the appetite and cause profuse sweating; used to allow combination of oils in margarine, chocolate, mayonnaise, milk powder; must be choosen vegetable type.

DFlock

Contains egg or substances derived from eggs - yes

E322 - Lecithins: Lecithins are also known as phosphatidylcholines, and are examples of phopholipids, or esters of glycerol, where two ester bonds are to fatty acids and the third is to a phosphoric acid derivative. Most commercial lecithin is extracted from soya beans, egg yolks and leguminous seeds, corn or animal resources; non toxic; used to allow combination of oils in margarine, chocolate, mayonnaise, milk powder, potato chips, puddings, breakfast cereals.. Lecithins play important roles in the transmission of nerve impulses as well as fulfilling other biological functions. They are present in all living cells and are significant constituents of nerve and brain tissues. Lecithins are capable of forming micelles in aqueous solution hence are employed in foods as emulsifiers. Egg allergy.

MBM Foods

Phosphatides
phospholipids
Enzyme modified lecithin
Lecithin partially hydrolyzed

Collection of sources used to create this food additive summary.

Source
Codex Alimentarius
Food Standards Australia New Zealand
JECFA (Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives)
UK Food Guide
UK Food Standards Agency
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Wikipedia

Lists the U.S. CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry number and EINECS (European INventory of Existing Commercial chemical Substances) numbers when known.

No known suppliers. Get listed here - sales@noshly.com

comments powered by Disqus