Bleached shellac: off-white to tan, amorphous granular resin; wax-free bleached shellac: light yellow, amorphous, granular resin.

Be Awesome. Write a better description.

The function(s) performed by the food additive when used in cooking.

  • Glazing agent - A substances that gives food a shiny appearance or provides a protective coating

This object doesn't have any images associated with it. Submit some to improve results.

Data according to various sources such as fao, fda, codex. Spot a mistake? Tell us!

Country Status Matched Term
United States
Matching Terms Not Found
European Union
Approved Shellac
Australia and New Zealand
Approved Shellac
Afghanistan
Unknown None
Philippines
Approved Shellac
Portugal
Approved Shellac
Austria
Approved Shellac
Belgium
Approved Shellac
Bulgaria
Approved Shellac
Cyprus
Approved Shellac
Czech Republic
Approved Shellac
Denmark
Approved Shellac
Estonia
Approved Shellac
Finland
Approved Shellac
France
Approved Shellac
Germany
Approved Shellac
Greece
Approved Shellac
Hungary
Approved Shellac
Ireland
Approved Shellac
Italy
Approved Shellac
Latvia
Approved Shellac
Lithuania
Approved Shellac
Luxembourg
Approved Shellac
Malta
Approved Shellac
Netherlands
Approved Shellac
Poland
Approved Shellac
Romania
Approved Shellac
Slovakia
Approved Shellac
Slovenia
Approved Shellac
Spain
Approved Shellac
Sweden
Approved Shellac
United Kingdom
Approved Shellac
Australia
Approved Shellac
New Zealand
Approved Shellac

show more

Causes allergic reaction - yes

E904 - Shellac, bleached: Rare skin allergy in sensitive people

Additive Alert

Halal - maybe

E904 - Shellac, bleached: Glazing Agents Glazing with Shellac is not Halal because alcohol is used to dissolve the Shellac and then evaporate before glazing on food products. Pure Shellac without alcohol is Halal because it is a insect secretion.

Muslim Consumer Group

Causes allergic reaction - yes

E904 - Shellac, bleached: Derived from the Lac insect of India; occasionally causes irritations of the skin. Used as glazing agent, chocolate, confectionary, orange fizzy drinks, orange skin, medications. Can be used by all religious groups and vegetarians. Vegans generally avoid the product as there are still lice in the raw product. These are eliminated during purification.

MBM Foods

Aggravates food intolerances - yes

E904 - Shellac, bleached: Derived from the Lac insect of India; occasionally causes irritations of the skin. Used as glazing agent, chocolate, confectionary, orange fizzy drinks, orange skin, medications. Can be used by all religious groups and vegetarians. Vegans generally avoid the product as there are still lice in the raw product. These are eliminated during purification.

MBM Foods

Causes allergic reaction - yes

E904 - Shellac, bleached: Occasionally causes irritations of the skin.

Angelfire-Food Intolerance, Allergies and Adverse Reactions

Derived from animal products - yes

E904 - Shellac, bleached: Derived from insects; occasionally causes irritations of the skin

DFlock

Causes allergic reaction - yes

E904 - Shellac, bleached: Derived from insects; occasionally causes irritations of the skin

Food Reactions - Food Intolerance, Allergy & Adverse Reactions

Derived from animal products - yes

E904 - Shellac, bleached: Shellac is a resin secreted by an insect called the lac bug Laccifer lacca Kerr (Coccidae) . It is often unclear as to whether the insect is killed in the process of commercially obtaining shellac as the resin is left by the insect on various plants. Whether this resin is harvested as a residue or extracted by directly killing the insects needs further investigation.

Vegetarian Network Victoria

candy glaze
confectioner's glaze
gum lac
lac resin
laccifer lacca resin

Collection of sources used to create this food additive summary.

Source
Codex Alimentarius
Food Standards Australia New Zealand
JECFA (Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives)
UK Food Standards Agency
U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Lists the U.S. CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry number and EINECS (European INventory of Existing Commercial chemical Substances) numbers when known.

  • CAS Number: 9000-59-3
  • EINECS Number: 232-549-9

No known suppliers. Get listed here - sales@noshly.com

comments powered by Disqus